Sumner and Kaikoura

Sumner

Wednesday after class we decided to take a trip to Sumner. Sumner is the fancier suburb of Christchurch, right along the side of the ocean. A few of us took a bus down, about a 45 minute ride, and got off to walk along the side of the beach.

P1020528

The trail that followed the coast was closed due to damage from the earthquakes a couple years ago, so we found a different way that involved going uphill. Eventually we came to a bay called “Taylor’s Mistake.” It was a beautiful area, and there were a couple surfers in the water.

P1020601

P1020663

I have no idea who Taylor was, or what his mistake was. I looked it up, but it seems nobody else really knows either. Either way, it’s an intriguing name for a beautiful place.

Photo courtesy of Carmen Widera

Photo courtesy of Carmen Widera

We wandered around for a few hours, pausing in the park for a beautiful sunset before taking the bus home.

P1020718

Photo courtesy of Andy Blöschl

This wonderful photo is courtesy of Andy Blöschl ^.^

Christchurch is a lovely city. Surrounded by mountains and ocean, all of which are just a relatively short bus ride away – there’s quite a bit to explore. I’m really glad I came here.

That night at the tramping club meeting, Andy, Will and I realized that none of us had classes the next day – even though it was Thursday. So we decided to plan a day trip, lest we waste spare time. 😉

Kaikoura

We decided to go to Kaikoura, a coastal town about 2 hours North of Christchurch. It’s known for its wildlife viewing, especially of seals and whales. We left early in the morning on Thursday, biking to the airport where we could pick up our rental car.

Christchurch is a very bike-friendly city – at least, compared to Edmonton – and small enough that you can get almost anywhere important. As a student living on campus, I can rent a bike at any time for free via a company called Nextbike. You just rent it out by phoning them on your cell, and return it within 24 hours, and it’s all free. Honestly, I love the freedom of biking around town, and not having to pay for gas or bus fare. It’s also extremely useful for getting places that are just a little too far to walk, especially, say, when you need to rent a car and the rental company is situated at the airport. It took us about 20 minutes to bike there, which isn’t bad at all.

The first adventure of the day, after our morning exercise, was driving on the left side of the road. There were four of us on the trip – but only two of us with English driver’s licenses. So we took turns: Will drove there, and I drove us back.

It turns out that it’s not too hard to get used to driving on the left side of the road. The main things are getting a sense of the positioning of the car (since you’re judging from a whole new angle), shifting gears with the left hand instead of the right, and accidentally turning on the windshield wipers instead of the turn signal.

P1020767

After a 2-hour scenic drive through mountains and along the coast, we arrived in Kaikoura. It’s a small but lovely place. The town itself isn’t much, but the mountains tower majestically nearby – high and snow covered – before dropping away suddenly into the sea.

P1020800

Today wasn’t a huge tramping day. We walked about 12 or 13 km, but it was pretty relaxed. We stopped often and it didn’t feel much like exercise. The trail ran around a small peninsula, so we followed that and got a magnificent view of the ocean all around. Thankfully, the weather was perfect too.

P1020840-Panorama P1020818

About halfway around we found some seals. Here, the two photographers of the group (sadly I didn’t take my big camera with me, so I don’t count myself as among them… 😦 ) paused to take many photos. (But actually that’s okay. They’re just seals.)

67767_10151753996621405_1377759462_n

At the end of the day we stopped to sit on a bench and enjoy the view of a beautiful sunset over the mountains.

And it was then, minding our own business, sitting on a bench by the seaside, when a seal decided he wanted to attack us. He was a few metres away, and suddenly went from suntanning to growling and charging at us. I don’t think he was too serious about it, but we all had to get up and run.

IMG_4050_1_small

Thanks to Andy Blöschl for the well-timed photo

Walking back to our car we enjoyed the last rays of daylight, and met a guy playing a guitar while riding a bike. After it got dark we stopped at the Why Not Café for some hot chocolate. (I mean, why not?)

And then it was time to head home. So I got into the driver’s side, adjusted my mirrors, and we were off.

The best part of the day, for me, happened on the way home. It was maybe 7 or 8 o’clock, and pitch black outside. We waited until we got out of the mountains, past the twisty-turny roads, and then pulled over onto a side road to get out and do some night-sky viewing.

It was the most amazing night sky I have ever seen.

I thought living in Canada (and working in a national park) would give me a pretty good idea of what a dark preserve can offer. The Elk Island night sky is great. Jasper and Banff is even better. Halfway between Kaikoura and Christchurch in New Zealand, however, is amazing.

I’ve seen the Milky Way before, but I’ve never seen so many… layers? I guess? Colours?

I don’t know. I can’t describe it.

All I know is that I love looking at the night sky, and this blew my breath away. It still does, every time I think about it. (Have I mentioned I may have fallen in love with the night sky?)

Thanks to Will and his awesome camera, you can at least get an idea of it.

Photo courtesy of Will Rynearson

Photo courtesy of Will Rynearson

Photo courtesy of Will Rynearson

Photo courtesy of Will Rynearson

Photo courtesy of Will Rynearson

Photo courtesy of Will Rynearson